Volume 97 Issue 3 Sports

Kansas City Royals are World Champions

by Zach Seyko

After five games, the Kansas City Royals have defeated the New York Mets and are the 2015 World Series Champions.

The Royals claimed the championship afteron an incredible comeback that took 12 innings to finish. Down 2-0, the Royals tied the Mets at two runs apiece in the top of the 9th to send the game into extra innings as a result of a game-tying single by their catcher, Salvador Perez. Mets starting pitcher Matt Harvey threw eight shutout innings and looked to send the series back to Kansas City for a game six, but the Royals continued to battle. After a quiet 10th and 11th inning, the Royals finally broke through with five runs in the 12th to take a 7-2 lead, which they would not relinquish.

Perez was awarded Most Valuable Player honors for his .364 series batting average, two runs batted in, strong defensive play and clutch hitting in the series finale.

Pinch hitter Christian Colon sparked the momentum as he singled to left field to score the speedster Jarryd Dyson on the base paths. Shortstop Alcides Escobar added a double to drive in Colon. Then, centerfielder Lorenzo Cain inflicted serious damage with his bases clearing double, putting game five out of reach for the Mets. Wade Davis was summoned from the bullpen in relief to cap off Kansas City’s impressive 2015 season.

After being defeated by the San Francisco Giants and pitcher Madison Bumgarner in the 2014 World Series, the Royals returned to the championship to reclaim what they knew was theirs coming into the 2015 campaign. Following their defeat by the San Francisco Giants in 2014, nothing but a championship would satisfy the Royals entering their 2015 campaign. After the conclusion of a hard-fought regular season, and a postseason road that ended in dramatic fashion, Kansas City players, coaches, and fans finally got their redemption.

One thing in particular that made the postseason more enjoyable and thrilling was the emergence of the Mets, Astros and the Chicago Cubs. The Mets will likely make multiple appearances in the playoffs for years to come because of their unique, talented and young pitching staff that includes Harvey, Jacob deGrom, Noah Syndergaard and Steven Matz. The Astros are led by starting pitcher Dallas Keuchel and their wave of cornerstone players in Jose Altuve and 21-year-old Carlos Correa. The Cubs sport a fantastic line up with young, powerful bats in Kris Bryant, Anthony Rizzo, Javier Baez, Addison Russell, Jorge Soler and Kyle Schwarber.

The Royals clinched the American League Central pennant with a 95-67 record. In addition, they also gained home field advantage throughout the playoffs, which came in handy against the improved Toronto Blue Jays. Prior to defeating the Blue Jays in six games, the Royals knocked off the surprising Houston Astros in five games.

The Royals are a special ball club because they do not quit. They do not over power their opponents with home runs and strike out pitchers; they play strategically. They will bunt, steal bases, hit away from shifts and use pitchers and hitters based according to favorable matchups. While this 2015 squad was extremely skilled, they are led by one of the best managers in the majors, Ned Yost. A combination of smart, managerial abilities and the heart that the Royals wear on their sleeves is what made them the 2015 World Series Champions.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s